Official Government Website

About the Commission

The Commission is a self-governing agency consisting of nine (9) members, pursuant to Idaho Code 19-849. No individual currently employed as a prosecuting attorney or current employee of a law enforcement agency may be a member of the Commission. Members are appointed and serve overlapping, staggered terms of 2 or 3 years. 

Chair Darrell Bolz
Juvenile Justice Commission

Angela Barkell, County Clerk
Idaho Association of Counties – Owyhee County

Justice Linda Copple Trout
Idaho Court System

Senator Melissa Wintrow
Idaho Senate

Eric Lehtinen, Esq.
Idaho State Appellate Public Defender

Representative David M. Cannon
House of Representatives

Dan Dinning
Idaho Association of Counties

Ben Andersen, Esq.
Twin Falls County Public Defender’s Office

Bylaws and Strategic Plan

The latest version of the Commission’s bylaws were approved September 26, 2018.

In fulfilling its mission, the Public Defense Commission has created and follows its Strategic Plan.

ver: 3.5.2 | last updated: